Cambridge Rugby Head Coach Richie Williams has named his side set to welcome Ealing Trailfinders to Ellgia Fields on Saturday afternoon.

After a two-week hiatus, the Blood and Sand are eager to get back on the pitch and welcome fans back to their home ground. Coming off the back of the break, William’s side face a tough challenge with current table toppers Ealing in round thirteen.

“It will be the third occasion that we have faced our visitors on Saturday, after playing them already in both the Championship and Premiership Cup. In my opinion, they are the clear favourites to win the league this season.”

“In each of the previous games we have faced them so far, we have been competitive for small parts, before being outdone by their greater speed, athleticism and physicality.”

Despite history against them, Williams is confident in his team’s progression so far and their ability to rise to the challenge that tomorrow’s clash brings;

“As with every game we play, we will be looking for greater consistency this time around, which will hopefully allow us the opportunity of picking up valuable league points.”

His squad selection for round thirteen see’s notable faces return to the fold;

“We have made a few changes to the team this week, with a few players making their first appearance for a number of months. Half backs Toby Dabell and Lawrence Rayner make their first appearances since the start of the season and tighthead prop Kieran Verden returns to the bench on loan from Premiership side Bath. Benji Hoppe returns from injury whilst Ben Adams is awarded a starting sport and will skipper from the back row.”

A strong bench has also been named alongside the fifteen;

“Both Ben Brownlie and usual captain George Bretag-Norris move to the experienced bench which also features prop Huw Owen, Matt Dawson and Geordie Irvine.”

The clash takes place at 2pm on Saturday 24 February at Ellgia Fields. Tickets for the match are available via the Cambridge Rugby website or on the gate on the day.

Cambridge line-up:

15| Elias Caven
14| Kwaku Asiedu
13| Sam Hanks
12| Matty Williams
11| Joe Green
10| Steffan James
9| Kieran Duffin
1| Jake Ellwood
2| Morgan Veness
3| Billy Walker
4| Kieran Frost
5| Gareth Baxter
6| Benji Hoppe
7| Ben Adams (c)
8| Nahum Merigan

16| Ben Brownlie
17| Huw Owen
18| Kieran Verden
19| George Bretag-Norris
20| Matt Dawson
21| Toby Dabell
22| Lawrence Rayner
23| Geordie Irvine