Cambridge Rugby have revealed their 23-man side set to face Bedford Blues on Saturday afternoon in round fifteen of the Championship.

Welcoming both the men’s and women’s sides to Ellgia Fields, Cambridge Rugby Club, for the first time ever, will host not one but two highly competitive fixtures on one day with the women kicking off the day at 12pm followed by the men’s sides at 3pm.

Head Coach of the 1st XV men, Richie Williams commented on the challenge Bedford will bring to his side;

“We face one of the best attacking and most free flowing teams in the Championship this weekend as we host Bedford Blues. We have been pretty explicit around what our game plan needs to look like, and I am excited to see the group apply that on Saturday.”

After suffering a heavy defeat last Friday night away to Hartpury College, Williams has made changes to his side ahead of this weekend;

“We welcome back Jamie Benson from his heroics and man of the match performance in the Oxford Cambridge Varsity match last weekend. He scored the highest ever individual points total in the history of the fixture and we are immensely pleased to have him back in the fold this week.”

“We also welcome back Jared Cardew and Anthony Maka who both return from injuries. They both feature on the bench whilst Benji Hoppe starts in a back row which also features Matt Dawson. This week the Blood and Sand will be captained by ex-Bedford Blues player Ben Adams. The only other change in the forward pack sees Matty Collins start at tight head prop.”

A local derby match that promises an afternoon of entertainment and high-end sporting action, it’s not one to be missed. With large crowds expected fans are encouraged to make the most of our lower pre-sale prices and buy your tickets online today via the Cambridge Rugby website.

Parking for the clash has now Sold Out. Read our Match Day Guide for more information on what to expect and ways to travel to the game.

Cambridge line-up:

15| Elias Caven
14| Kwaku Asiedu
13| Sam Hanks
12| Matty Williams
11| Joe Green
10| Jamie Benson
9| Toby Dabell
1| Jake Ellwood
2| Ben Brownlie
3| Matt Collins
4| Kieran Frost
5| Gareth Baxter
6| Ben Adams ©
7| Matt Dawson
8| Benji Hoppe

16| Morgan Veness
17| Huw Owen
18| Billy Walker
19| George Bretag-Norris
20| Jared Cardew
21| Kieran Duffin
22| Tom Hoppe
23| Anthony Maka