Cambridge head coach Richie Williams has named his squad for the local derby against Ampthill. The Blood & Sand were beaten by the Mob on the last play of a pulsating encounter at Dillingham Park in Round One.

Here’s Richie:

“It seems a long, long time ago when we lost that game injury time, when Ampthill scored that try off a quick tap-penalty! This weekend will be a really great occasion for the Club, finishing our first campaign in the Championship at home. We’ve provide some great memories for our supporters this season – both good and bad! I think the whole Premiership Cup campaign – playing at Franklins Gardens and Ashton Gate – against Premiership teams (albeit difficult) was a highlight, results aside!

“We’ve learned a lot about ourselves. Mentally it’s been really, really tough on everybody mentally but we believe that if we can build on our last two performances against Cornish Pirates and Caldy we can get something from the game. Ampthill have gone well this season – they’re going to finish in the top half of the table. They’ve had a really strong and healthy relationship with Saracens and been fortunate to call upon some high-calibre players and I’m sure this weekend will be the same.

“For us, it’s really important that we stick to what we’re good at as a group. We’ll try and reduce their time on the ball and put them under pressure, which we did in parts against Pirates and Caldy. We’ll try and keep the ball on the pitch and be brave with our decision making. We’re looking forward to it.

“We’ve selected from a very similar squad. We’ve a couple of players out with injury and unavailability – Ben Adams is ruled out after an operation, Matty Collins has played his last game for the Club, Matt Dawson is still on Army duty. Other than that we’re pretty much as we’ve been for the past few weeks”.

Cambridge line-up:

15 – Eli Caven
14 – Kwaku Asiedu
13 – Sam Hanks
12 – Tom Hoppe
11 – Joe Green
10 – Steffan James
9 – Kieran Duffin

1 – Jake Ellwood
2 – Ben Brownlie
3 – Billy Walker
4- George Bretag-Norris (c)
5- Gareth Baxter
6 – Anthony Maka
7 – Jared Cardew
8 – Nahum Merigan

16 – Morgan Veness
17 – Huw Owen
18 – Seb Brownhill
19 – Kieran Frost
20 – Noah Sloot
21 – Toby Dabell
22 – Laurence Rayner
23 – Matt Williams